Shortlist 2018

Best Employer, sponsored by Procure4
City District
Cycas Hospitality
Firmdale Hotels
Red Carnation Hotels

Best Marketing Campaign
The Ned, London
The Refuge, Principal Manchester

Best use of Technology, sponsored by Bookatable
Casual Dining Group
Cheval Residences
Dine Delivered
Imperial London Hotels

Chef Award, sponsored by the Craft Guild of Chefs
Paul Ainsworth, No 6, Padstow, Cornwall
Claude Bosi, Claude Bosi at Bibendum, London
Nathan Outlaw, Restaurant Nathan Outlaw, Port Isaac, Cornwall
Peter Sanchez-Iglesias, Casamia, Bristol
Andrew Wong, A Wong, London

Education and Training Award, sponsored by Bidfood
Tim Foster, The Yummy Collection
Gordon McIntyre, City of Glasgow College
Kellie Rixon, Rixon Associates
Leon Seraphin, Beyond Food Foundation

Foodservice Caterer Award, sponsored by Zenith Hygiene
Tony Beales, Beales Gourmet
Daniel Gill, Dine
Patrick Harbour and Nathan Jones, Harbour & Jones
Chris Mitchell, Genuine Dining Group

Health and Nutrition Award, sponsored by CH&Co Group
Craig Hancox, Amadeus
Brad Pearce, CATERed
Amy Roberts, Holroyd Howe
Gabriella Roberts, BaxterStorey

Hotel of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division
Bovey Castle, Dartmoor, Devon
Ham Yard hotel, London
The Ned, London

Hotel of the Year – Independent, sponsored by Sky
Glenapp Castle, Ballantrae, Ayrshire
The Stafford London
The Torridon, By Achnasheen, Wester Ross
Yorebridge House, Bainbridge, North Yorkshire

Manager of the Year, sponsored by Amadeus
Gareth Banner, The Ned, London
John Keating, Fairmont St Andrews
Andre Mannini, M Restaurants, London
Adam Rowledge, Georgian House, London
Laura Sharpe, Ham Yard hotel, London

Menu of the Year, sponsored by Teflon

The Blackbird

The Latymer

Pentonbridge Inn

Whatley Manor


Newcomer Award, sponsored by William Grant & Sons
Michael Caines, Lympstone Manor Hotel, Devon
Mark Birchall, Moor Hall, Lancashire
Alan and Angela Harper, Palé Hall Hotel, Gwynedd
Aaron Webster and Remi Williams, Smoke & Salt, London

Pub and Bar Award, sponsored by Britvic
Peter Borg-Neal, Oakman Inns
Josh Eggleton, The Pony & Trap, Bristol
Chris Galvin, Galvin Green Man, Essex

Public Sector Caterer Award, sponsored by Premier Foods
Brad Pearce, CATERed
Neel Radia, National Association of Care Catering
Matthew White, The University of Reading and The University Caterers Organisation

Restaurateur of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division
Will Beckett and Huw Gott, Hawksmoor
Des Gunewardena and David Loewi, D&D London
Pranee Laurillard, Giggling Squid
Shamil Thakrar and Kavi Thakrar, Dishoom

Restaurateur of the Year – Independent, sponsored by OpenTable
Richard Corrigan, Corrigan Collection
Michael Deane, Deanes Belfast
Josh Eggleton, The Pony & Trap, Bristol
Andrew Pern, Star Inn, Harome, Yorkshire

Sustainable Business Award, sponsored by Lightspeed
Bartlett Mitchell
Fairmont St Andrews
Llangoed Hall, Powys
The University of Manchester

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award, sponsored by Searcys
Andrew McKenzie, The Vineyard, Stockcross
Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan
Laure Patry, The Social Company

The shortlist for the Menu of the Year, sponsored by Teflon, will be announced next month, while the shortlist for the Accessibility Award, sponsored by Bespoke Hotels, will be revealed on the night of the awards.

There is no shortlist for the International Outstanding Achievement Award, the Special Award, sponsored by Johnsons Stalbridge, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Berkeley Scott.

The Caterer would like to thank all its sponsors for the awards. Associate sponsors are Cobra,, Hobart, Matthew Clark, Secret Escapes, Schweppes, Tripadvisor, TUCO and Rational

2018 Winners

Accessibility Award

Rudding Park

Best Employer

Cycas Hospitality

Best Marketing Campaign Award

The Ned

Best use of Technology Award

Dine Delivered

Chef Award

Claude Bosi

Education and Training Award

Tim Foster, Yummy Pub Co

Foodservice Caterer Award

Chris Mitchell, Genuine Dining Co

Health and Nutrition Award


Hotel of the Year – Group

Ham Yard Hotel

Hotel of the Year - Independent

The Torridon

International Outstanding Achievement Award

Wolfgang Puck

Lifetime Achievement Award

Diego Masciaga

Manager of the Year

Laura Sharpe - Ham Yard Hotel

Menu of the Year Award


Newcomer Award

Smoke & Salt

Pub and Bar Award

Peter Borg-Neal, Oakman Inns

Public Sector Caterer Award

Neel Radia, National Association of Care Catering 

Restaurateur of the year - Group

Kavi & Shamil Thakrar, Dishoom

Restaurateur of the Year – Independent

Richard Corrigan, Corrigan Collection

Special Award

Geoffrey Gelardi - The Lanesborough

Sustainable Business Award

The University of Manchester- Hospitality & Events

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award

Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan